

Last spring i went wine tasting with my friend Andrea, it was old hat for her, but it was my first time. I quickly caught a bit of a wine buzz and soon after got caught up in the whole wine tasting thing. Andrea left for a few to use the ladies room at which time i made the awful mistake of joining a wine club which commited me to buying two cases at $180 ea. Now i relise $15 a bottle for good wine is not a bad price, but at the time i was pretty much broke, having just gotten out of debt to my Mom (thanks Mom) and i don't even drink wine. I might drink a total of three bottles in a year and mostly white since red gives me a headache. The stuff that made me go "Mmm" was a Pinot Nior, which suposedly does not have all the tanis(sp) and all that other junk that causes headaches. I ended up giving a few bottles away and tried to get family and friends to buy the other case. I even went so far as to call my attorney and ask him if he could get me out of the contract. I never heard back from him. Mom, Enza and Gr. came over a few weekends back and we took a drive over to east Eastern, Wa east of Twisp. That is where my winery is. We did some more wine tasting and i bought my second and final case of wine. I found out that after my first case of Pinot, i really liked it. They (the winery) were out of the year i liked 2004 so i got 2006.Then a few days ago i was at our local grocery and they had the 2004 flavor on sale for $7. Here i am someone who drinks maybe three bottles of white a year and i am buying another case or wine. I am finding that i am really enjoying a class or two of this wine. Now i don't feel so dumb about joining the wine club, maybe a little dumb for paying $15 a bottle when Hanks Grocery store has it for $7?
I got invited to a halloween party that i did not want to go to. I got invited last year and didn't go. This year i am living with and working with a friend from back home, Lauren. She talked me into going and i am glad i did. Once i thought about a costume and started making it i got into it. The party ended up being really fun. It was in a shop that was connected to a house up on the hill overlooking the Methow river in Twisp. There was food and entertainment. People put on little skits and did some lipsincing. Lauren and i and a few local friends went. We danced till the wee hours. They all got hammered, but i stayed in control avoiding the nasty hangovers that i am accustomed to. I got a ton of props for my costume, i will probably go again next year but it will be hard to top this years costume.

No comments:
Post a Comment